REVIEW: Fingernail types & traditional chinese medicine!

September 4, 2010

Emily Wang – beauty journalist in London – wrote an interesting article about various aspects of fingernails, including: beauty tips, a basic review of the nail structure, changes in nail color & texture,  and… the meaning of fingernail types according traditional Chinese medicine!

A short impression from the article:

The Truth about Your Nails:

“Interestingly enough- according to Traditional Chinese Medicine,
our nails are also able to portray our innate constitutions.

If your nail shape is naturally:

Oblong – You are harmonious and well-balanced.
Stock and square – You are earthy and balanced but mentally rigid.
Long – You are artistic and creative but lack physical strength.
Oval – You are sensitive and have a weak digestive system.

I found this to be shockingly accurate!
Some interesting reads 
here.

I used to have artificial nails, acrylic nails and gel nails consistently for two years that I never got to see my natural nails until I decided to take them off for good. My nails became so weak that they felt and bended like paper. At some point they became sensitive to touch, and were unable to grow to a normal standard length before it eventually chipped away.

It therefore took a good year before they even came close to regaining to a healthy state. During this time I had to be mentally aware of what I ate, and made sure that I had substantial amount of vitamins and nutrients that were essential for healthy nail growth.

I am writing from experience. I know what it is like to have that moment where at the time, having fake nails is beautiful. Going to a nail salon, and getting your nails done feels like luxury.
But think about it. Can you really have fake nails for the rest of your life?

The answer is no. And that is why I had decided to be more natural and love my nails as they are. I have learnt to take really good care of my nails, and as my grandmother has always said to me – that “a woman’s fortune depends on her hands and feet.”

Not that I believe in it, but at least now my fingernails look and feel healthy- without needing to spend money doing it up

A little side note…. my younger sister had a “cheese on toast” addiction for a couple of months where she ate it for breakfast before going to school almost everyday. Luckily, because of our family genes, she did not gain any weight from it whatsoever, however we all noticed that her nails improved drastically. She is the only person I know that has the strongest, healthiest looking nails. Extremely envious! I don’t think I could eat cheese on toast everyday…… maybe jacket potatoes!

FURTHER SUGGESTIONS:

Fingernails & diseases , fingernails & disorders & fingernail art

3 Responses to “REVIEW: Fingernail types & traditional chinese medicine!”


  1. yeah,u right,we cant wear fate nail forever,now i see,that fate nail can cause another problem went we wear off it.it sound scary went you said u can bend your nail like a paper.yawww…

  2. elinor martinez Says:

    moons on both hands are blue… sometimes more so than others… have used the denture adhesive that has excessive zinc in it, for 15 yEARS.. could it be related ? oxygen is 97 percent so that is not it… any ideas.???

    • yourfingernails Says:

      Wow… that is tempting question!

      Sorry, I don’t know.

      Maybe you better should ask your doctor/general practitioner for some advice because sometimes ‘blue lunula’ can be worrisome.
      But maybe you have not much to worry about if you are living a healthy life – e.g. healthy food & regular exercise.

      Take care & let me know the outcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

